History of our school

The school, built just over 60 years ago, was designed by the world-famous partnership of David and Mary Medd and has listed building status. Their building and design philosophies can be seen clearly in the structural features of Woodside Junior School - a respect for scale and well-being, a building designed around children and a desire to break away from what they described as the "railway carriages" school. The school was opened on the 14th January 1957.

The school is very lucky to be sited in the beautiful surroundings of a peaceful tree lined residential road and we are often envied for our stunning grounds. The huge playing field is bordered by woods, ready-made for outdoor learning. This all formed part of the Medds’ original design.